For the love of fashion (and organization)

…And so my first blog post as it relates to the world of fashion, clothing, accessories, shoes and closets begins.  I look forward to sharing my musings with those of you who care to read what I have to say, and more so, I look forward to your responses!

A quick synopsis of how this came about.  I am a die-hard style fiend. And not in an Isla Fischer in “Confessions of a Shopaholic” kind of way (although I do admit, I loved the movie. It’s the chick in me).   I don’t shop outside of my means, or buy things just because they are on sale. I am careful about what I purchase.  I make sure I am completely enamored with an item before I commit to the plastic swipe (and if not, I hold onto the receipt and tags JUST in case a return is in order).  Buying out of “need” is out of the question, because really, who needs that second pair of buttery soft camel brown boots with that perfect ankle strap? I buy because I want, because I can, and because it feels good. And I urge anyone who reads this to do the same. Just make sure you don’t regret it afterward.  Life is too short for regrets.

So with my obsession of style came an obsession with obsessing over other people’s style.  Sitting at a bar enjoying a glass of wine with friends, I never take my eyes off the person speaking to me (because quite honestly, that’s rude!) unless I get side-tracked by a gorgeous cinch belt or bright yellow alligator hobo.  Walking in the city (any street, any city actually – even small towns!), my boyfriend pulls me by the arm past the glistening sparkling delicious shop windows so we won’t be late to our dinner reservation, but my head will still crane itself owl-like behind me.  I try to memorize the arrangement.  How did they model the sheath dress with the belted cashmere cardigan with the houndstooth tights with the “hits-just-perfectly-at-the-ankle-preventing-cankles” booties. Do I need any of those things? No. Will I buy any of those items. Perhaps. Will I remember the ensemble? You bet your bottom dollar I will! (Wow, when was the last time you heard THAT phrase?)

Combine this obsession with my desire to organize all facets of my life (and anyone else’s around me), including ALL closets.  I relish the thought of going to a coworker’s apartment after work to analyze the contents, mad dashing to the nearest Container Store for shelves and boxes and other organizational goodies, hand-picking the oldies from the goodies, and the shoudies from the couldies. Nixing ratty sweaters and bedazzled belts like an unknown (and un-wealthy) Stacy & Clinton in my own version of “What Not to Wear”, I salivate at the thought of creating outfits with the stand-out pieces in someone’s closet and seeing that someone’s surprise when they see “the dress they’ve never worn from three years ago with the tags still on” morph into a pivotal piece in this week’s date-night outfit.  If I could do this for a living for free and still have a roof over my head and food in my tummy, I’d feel like I had died and gone to heaven.  But for now, I blog about it 🙂

I’ve enrolled in Fashion Styling classes at FIT which I start in just a few weeks. Although I have many years under my belt of combing the latest fashion rags, musings of other fashion-obsessed bloggers, or real life case studies of style walking to the deli next door (and who of you out there DOESN’T!?), I want to complement this fascination with real-world knowledge from a world-class style institution.  Stay tuned for my learnings and other ramblings ranging from how-to organize your closet, the “should I shouldn’t I dilemma”, 101 ways to use a belt, the best hangers for various “hanger nipple” ailments, and much much more.  I hope you find my blog informative, fun(NY) and helpful.  Please send me a line – I look forward to reading your comments!

Signing off.

For the love of fashion,

Denise

About Dio
Writer, Traveler, Yogi, Stylist.

5 Responses to For the love of fashion (and organization)

  1. mira says:

    that head craning thing is called “fashion whiplash.” test it out – totally works. love love love you!

  2. Tk says:

    Awesome idea!! This is totally you d!

  3. veronica says:

    love it. love it. love it.

    i am obsessed with organizing my clothes, etc. it gives me peace in this chaotic world 😉 i’m glad we have this in common…

  4. NoixdeCoco says:

    I just got hanger nipple yesterday at the gym, when I put my sweatshirt in the locker. Booo!

    I look forward to reading more of your blog.

Leave a Reply

